The original site of the Kowloon Walled City was used by imperial Chinese officials as early as in the 15th century. A signal station was established at the site in 1668. In 1810, a fort was built at the far end of the beach adjoining the site. Following the British occupation of the Hong Kong island in 1841, the Kowloon Walled City and the surrounding area became much more important in China’s maritime defense. In 1846, the Qing Government commenced the construction of a walled garrison city there. Surrounded by strong stonewalls with six watchtowers and four gates, the Kowloon Walled City, occupying an area of 6.5 acres, was completed in 1847.
The offices of Commodore of the Dapeng Brigade and the Kowloon Assistant Military Inspectorate, commonly known as Yamen, were major buildings in the Walled City. When the British troops took over the Walled City in 1899, the Qing officials and soldiers were expelled. Since then, the Walled City had been deprived of the rule of law and administration. It became a semi-lawless squatter slum.
During the Japanese occupation between 1941 and 1945, the walls of the Walled City were demolished by the Japanese troops, with the stones extracted for the extension of the nearby Kai Tak Airfield. The post-war years saw high-rise tenements over the Walled City. Built without government supervision, the living conditions deteriorated as the days went by. The Walled City had literally sunk into a hotbed of vice activities. Finally, the Walled City were brought to an end in 1987 when both governments of China and Hong Kong agreed on the demolition of the Walled City for ere-development into a park.
The demolition works of the Walled City were completed in April 1994. During the demolition, some existing buildings, unearthed carved granite plaques, remnants and relics were protected intact.